Latest News:

Archive index for British Superbike information

By Dan Moakes
February 1 2006

Archive page for British Superbike championship racing

Jamie Whitham, Oulton Park 1995 - photo by Elliot L Doering
Jamie Whitham, Moto Cinelli Ducati 955, Oulton Park 1995
photo © Elliot L Doering

A brief introduction to British Superbike racing

In contrast to the pure racing prototypes of Grand Prix competition, Superbikes are essentially production-based racers and, with some modification, they silhouette machines that are available to anyone for use on the roads. This goes some way to explaining Superbike’s popularity, but in Britain there is also the spectacle of extremely close racing, on some particularly challenging tracks, as well as a high level of rider talent.

The international four-stroke Superbike racing formula evolved in the United States - to the extent that full two-stroke GP racing eventually became marginalised in that arena - and the Superbike category gained wider recognition with the start of the World Championship in 1988. In Britain, however, it took a bit longer for Superbikes to finally supercede the 750cc TT Formula One category of the 1980s - the roads-based TT F1 World Championship pre-dated Superbikes by eleven years - but the series has gone from strength to strength over the last decade.

In fact, the British championship was the first to allow four-cylinder engine capacity to be expanded from 750cc to 1000cc, matching the limit already available to V-twin motors; and of course BSB had previously been a more competitive prospect for 750 riders, in comparison with the Ducati-dominated WSBK series over the same period, with Yamaha’s YZF model taking four titles in the 1990s.

The series has long been home to some of the best racers the UK has to offer, with a mix of former GP and WSBK campaigners, and real roads specialists, together with younger riders looking to eventually move further afield. British racing has produced World Superbike race winners from Terry Rymer, Jamie Whitham, John Reynolds and Shane Byrne, through to the recent trio of Ducati riding World Champions - Troy Bayliss, Neil Hodgson and James Toseland, and not forgetting four-time title winner Carl Fogarty, and long term GP man Niall Mackenzie.

What follows is a comprehensive network of data and info on the series, and some excellent photography, but please let us know if we’ve missed anything...

All the champions
Essential info on leading riders
Table of race winners, 1995 to 2004
List of race winners, 1993 to 1995 · still being updated
List of race winners, 1987 to 1992 · still being updated

Entry list for 2006
Entry list for 2005
Entry list for 2004
Entry list for 2003
Entry list for 2002
Entry list for 2001
Entry list for 2000
Entry list for 1999
Entry list for 1998
Entry list for 1997
Entry list for 1996
Entry list for 1995
Entry list for 1994
Entry list for 1993
Entry list for 1992
Entry list for 1991

Photo gallery for 2007
Photo gallery for 2006
Photo gallery for 2005
Photo gallery for 2004
Photo gallery for 2003
Photo galleries for 1991 to 1997

Vital statistics for 2005
Vital statistics for 2004
Vital statistics for 2003
Vital statistics for 2002
Vital statistics for 2001
Vital statistics for 2000
Vital statistics for 1999
Vital statistics for 1998
Vital statistics for 1997
Vital statistics for 1996
Vital statistics for 1995

Profile of Troy Bayliss
Profile of Shane “Shakey” Byrne
Profile of Neil Hodgson
Profile of Leon Haslam
Profile of James Haydon
Profile of Ryuichi “Kiyo” Kiyonari
Profile of Gregorio Lavilla
Profile of John McGuinness
Profile of John “JR” Reynolds
Profile of Gary Mason
Profile of Michael Rutter
Profile of James Toseland
Profile of Chris Walker
· more profiles on the way

Steve Hislop
A tribute to the British Superbike and Isle of Man TT winner

David Jefferies
A tribute to the multiple Isle of Man TT race winner

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:


Motorcycle Racing Online Poll

Will the new rules make MotoGP better in 2012?

See results > Submit >>