f1
Latest News:

Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview


By Williams Martini Racing
August 28 2018

One week after the Belgian GP the Williams Martini team moves to another famous circuit Manza for the last European race of the 2018 season, the Italian GP. For both Williams team drivers Sergey Sirotkin and Lance Stroll they have fond memories of their performances at the Monzqa circuit. In particular Lance will look back to last years race when he started on the front row. It is not expected that a smiliar event will take place at this years race but again the Williams team is looking to come away with a positive result hopefully scoring further points.

 
2018 Italian GP Preview
 
GP Circuit
 

Belgium’s been and gone and so now the team turns to Italy’s “Temple of Speed”, the Autodromo Nazionale Monza, which hosts Round 14 of the 2018 Formula One World Championship. Notoriously known for being the home of the “Tifosi”, Monza rarely fails to excite and entertain with its fast track layout and famed corners such as Ascari and Parabolica. Monza also means farewell to our beloved motorhome as Formula One’s European season draws to a close, with Singapore next up on the calendar.

PADDY LOWE:
Straight on from Belgium we go to Italy for the final European race of the season. Monza always has a great atmosphere as the fans come out in their droves to support Formula One. It’s another iconic track within a unique park setting inside the city. The circuit is one of the fastest of the year but despite the high-speed sections, it still has some challenging corners with big braking events to manage. We look forward to ending the European section of the calendar there before heading into the final flyaway races of the year.

 
GP Tyre Selection Stroll
 
GP Tyre Selection Sirotkin
 

SERGEY SIROTKIN:
I have very good memories racing at Monza, as I raced there a lot in my junior categories. I like the spirit of the track and the challenges that the high-speed, low-downforce corners create for the drivers. The track will throw some challenges at the car which will be nice to evaluate. It’s the last European race so we will have to enjoy it as much as we can.

LANCE STROLL:
Last year, Monza was a big turning point in my career, it really impacted on it. I have incredible memories of my front-row start and I will remember it forever. Qualifying was crazy in the rain, but I took to it like a fish to water! The atmosphere there is incredible and the passion of the tifosi is amazing. You can’t ignore the history of the place and the importance of Ferrari. I am really looking forward to getting back there.

Race Data
Friday:
Practice 1: 11:00 - 12:30
Practice 2: 15:00 - 16:30
Saturday:
Practice 3: 12:00 - 13:00
Qualifying: 15:00 – 16:00
Sunday: Race: 15:10

 
GP Statistics
 

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Williams F1 (IP Logged)
28/08/2018 12:56
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Myvatn (IP Logged)
28/08/2018 13:08
So Lance will likely drive for us.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Mehryar (IP Logged)
28/08/2018 13:52
Yes both good and bad news.
Bad news because most likely he will stay for another race and Kubica gets it 2 weeks later, on a track which is new to him and also phsically one of the hardest with his situations.Not an ideal place for his comeback.
Good news as Monza should offer Force India a good chance of big points.It must suit their car so Lance could get big points there with them which is not in favor of any of us I think.

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/1095/mehryarsigyo7.gif

Dylan's Together Through Life Hits The Stores.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
ihme (IP Logged)
28/08/2018 15:18
Quote:
Mehryar
And Kubica gets it 2 weeks later, on a track which is new to him and also phsically one of the hardest with his situations.Not an ideal place for his comeback.

Mehyar, Kubica knows Singapore very well! he raced there in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

And its good that his first outing will be at Singapore - we will see if he can nail it and if so thats great and if not - well, au revoir!



Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2018:08:28:15:18:51 by ihme.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Myvatn (IP Logged)
28/08/2018 16:04
My only concern with Stroll driving for us at this stage is that he probably will be already focused on his impending move to FI.

On a personal note, I will be at the circuit and I would have loved to have the opportunity to see KUB behind the wheel. I am not expecting miracles from him, but what an event that would be! Seeing how he would perform is the only thing that could make me excited for Williams in 2018.



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2018:08:28:16:04:52 by Myvatn.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
T-800 Model 101 (IP Logged)
29/08/2018 11:43
I have never understood the love for Kubica, has he ever won a F1 WDC?

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Mehryar (IP Logged)
29/08/2018 11:57
So only guys who's won a wdc are loved? Check yourself again about Webber & Daniel then.
Btw, there's no love for him atleast from me.It's I am so sick of Stroll that I wish someone else in the car.No matter if it's Kubica, Russell or anyone...if there's a favorite out there, after Fernando it's Ocon for me but chances are very slim to have him in a Williams, unfortunately.

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/1095/mehryarsigyo7.gif

Dylan's Together Through Life Hits The Stores.

 
Re: Italian GP: Williams Martini Grand Prix Preview
Myvatn (IP Logged)
29/08/2018 12:24
No point in feeding the troll...

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net
 

Williams F1 Poll

Who will be the second 2019 Williams driver?

See results > Submit >>