Williams F1
Bahrain GP: FP2 Williams Racing remain slowest
By Andrew Hooper
March 29 2019

The second Friday practice session for the 2019 Bahrain GP would again see the ROKiT Williams Racing team finish at the bottom of the times. George Russell would finish ahead of team-mate Robert Kubica in a session that would see both drivers complete supersoft tyre runs prior to switching to a splt tyre assessment with George on the hard tyre and Robert the medium. Small piece of encouraging news was the fact that George had reduced the gap to the fastest car in front to around 0.8 while in Australia it was 1.5 seconds. 
 ROKiT Williams Bahrain GP Friday 2nd Practice

Team Summary:
With the lights on the second Friday practice session would get underway for the 2019 Bahrain GP. A 1m:32.932 from Ricciardo but Vettel would move ahead with a 1m:30.610 running on the medium tyre. a 1m:30.203 from Leclerc to see him quickest. After their first runs the Williams drivers were 12th and 14th after supersoft tyre runs. On these first runs they were the only drivers using this softer tyre. Bottas would go quickest with a 1m:30.124 running on the medium tyre. The top ten times were all on the medium tyre with the Williams drivers now 18th and 20th with 15 minutes of the session completed.

Verstappen was now third followed by Hamilton, Vettel, Gasly, Sainz, Magnussen, Hulkenberg, and Norris tenth. Hamilton would move into third. With an hour and five minutes remaining both Ferrari's were out on the supersoft tyre. A 1m:28.942 from Vettel sees him go quickest with Leclerc second. Both Mercedes were now out for their supersoft tyre runs. Both Williams were also back out again on the supersoft tyre and would see improved times from both with the pair now 18th and 20th. Hamilton was now in third followed by Bottas, Hulkenberg, Verstappen, Magnussen, and Norris eighth. A 1m:28.846 from Vettel with Leclerc still second.

Ten minutes remaining and drivers were now on longer runs while the Williams drivers were still 19th and 20th. The Williams drivers were now running split tyre runs on the hard and medium tyre. The session would draw to a close with the top ten remaining the same. Both Williams drivers would pit with the end of the session having completed long runs on the two tyres. Again they were slowest but the gap to the fastest car in front of them had come down from the same session in Australia.

Robert Kubica:
Robert would also come out also on the supersoft tyre. Robert would set a 1m:34.057 after his first run. Robert would be last and would pit after a eight lap run. With fifty five minutes remaining Robert would return again on the supersoft tyre. A 1m:32.932 from Robert on his first timed lap. He would remain 20th as the session progressed. Robert would pit after a five lap run. Robert would return for a further run still on the supersoft tyre. Robert would pit switching to the medium tyre having completed a nine lap run on the supersoft tyres. Robert would complete 14 laps on the medium tyre as he pitted with the end of the session.

George Russell:
George would be first out for Williams running on the supersoft tyre. A 1m:32.513 on his first timed lap. George would pit after a five lap run. Russell was also back out again on the supersoft tyre. George would set a 1m:31.904 to move up the times. He would drop to 19th and would return for a further run again on the supersoft tyres. He would complete a eleven lap run before switching to the hard tyre. George would complete 12 laps on the hard tyre as he pitted.

Pos Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m28.846s - 32
2 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1m28.881s 0.035s 32
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m29.449s 0.603s 33
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m29.557s 0.711s 36
5 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m29.669s 0.823s 32
6 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda 1m29.725s 0.879s 34
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 1m30.000s 1.154s 33
8 Lando Norris McLaren-Renault 1m30.017s 1.171s 25
9 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 1m30.068s 1.222s 34
10 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Honda 1m30.093s 1.247s 36
11 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren-Renault 1m30.192s 1.346s 33
12 Pierre Gasly Red Bull-Honda 1m30.429s 1.583s 31
13 Alexander Albon Toro Rosso-Honda 1m30.458s 1.612s 36
14 Sergio Perez Racing Point-Mercedes 1m30.716s 1.870s 32
15 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1m30.848s 2.002s 30
16 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m31.088s 2.242s 6
17 Lance Stroll Racing Point-Mercedes 1m31.129s 2.283s 31
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m31.144s 2.298s 10
19 George Russell Williams-Mercedes 1m31.904s 3.058s 32
20 Robert Kubica Williams-Mercedes 1m32.932s 4.086s 37