Latest news:

Eifel GP: Disappointing FP3 for Williams Racing

By Andrew Hooper
October 12 2020

After having seen all of Friday practice cancelled due to the weather conditions the Williams Racing Team would have just one hour session on Saturday in which to prepare for qualifying and the race. Both George Russell and Nicholas Latifi would compleet soft tyre runs as well as runs on the medium tyre as they assessed tyres both both qualifying and the race. The pair would finish the Saturday practice in 17th and 19th with George leading Nicholas, which was a disappointing result for the team.

   Williams Racing Eifel GP Saturday Practice

Team Summary:
With both practice sessions cancelled due to the poor weather conditions it would come down to just then single Saturday practice session for the teams to prepare for their qualifying and race. The first cars were out on the track. After a rush of times Perez would be quickest with a 1m:32.337 from Sainz and Albon. Perez was on the soft but Verstappen would go quickest with a 1m:30.576. The times would continue to come down with Verstappen setting a 1m:28.866 now followed by Albon and Ricciardo. Perez and Ocon were now second and third but both were on the soft tyre. Albon was fourth followed by Ricciardo, Norris, Sainz, Bottas, Gasly and Kvyat. The Williams drivers with forty minutes remaining were 14th and 15th.

Albon would move up to second behind Verstappen. Verstappen had now set a 1m:28.684 to be ahead of Albon and Ocon. On the soft tyre Grosjean would move up to sixth. On the soft tyre Ocon would go quickest with a 1m:27.634 now followed by Sainz. Norris was now quickest with a 1m:27.631 from Ocon and Sainz. After their soft tyre runs the Williams drivers were 15th and 16th. But a further run would see them 13th and 16th. At the front it was now Bottas quickest with a 1m:26.968 from Verstappen and Hamilton. Ricciardo was fourth followed by Albon, Norris, Ocon, Leclerc, Gasly and Sainz in tenth. Norris would improve to be third and Sainz now ninth. Leclerc was now up to second but Hamilton would move ahead to see it a Mercedes 1-2. Verstappen was now fourth followed by Vettel and Norris. Bottas had improved his quickest time with a 1m:26.225 followed by Hamilton and Leclerc. With the end of the session the Williams drivers would finish in 17th and 19th.

Nicholas Latifi:
Nicholas would follow George out also on the medium tyre. Nicholas would set a 1m:39.992 to be 15th. Nicholas would also find time with a 1m:34.981 to be 14th. He would drop to 17th. A 1m:33.899 from Nicholas to see him now be 0.6s behind George. Nicholas would pit after an 11 lap run on the medium tyre. With thirty minutes remaining Nicholas was back out on the soft tyre. He would set a 1m:29.833 to be 11th. A 1m:28.941 from Nicholas to see him 6th. He would drop to be 16th as he was in his garage. But Nicholas would return for a second soft tyre run. But Nicholas would spin at teh final corner but was able to continue. He was currently 19th and slowest. He would pit after a six lap run finishing the session in 19th.

George Russell:
George would be first out for Williams like just about everyone else on the medium tyre. His first time would be a slow 1m:41.434 to be slowest. but George would improve with a 1m:36.990 to be 14th. A 1m:35,125 would see George 16th. A 1m:33.819 would see George move up to 14th. A 1m:33.246 would see an improvement but remained in 14th. He would pit after a 12 lap run on the medium. George would drop to 18th but was now out on the soft tyre for his no doubt qualifying run. Mistake from George would see him take to the grass but he was able to continue. George was now 19th but he would improve with a 1m:28.831 to be 13th. He would drop to 15th but with a 1m:28.515 would move to 13th. He would pit after an eight lap soft tyre run. With eight minutes remaining George would return for a further soft tyre run where he would fail to improve. George had dropped to 17th where he would remain with the end of the session.

Pos Driver Car Gap
1 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m26.225s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 0.136s
3 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 0.456s
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda 0.671s
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0.813s
6 Lando Norris McLaren-Renault 0.942s
7 Sergio Perez Racing Point-Mercedes 1.020s
8 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1.167s
9 Alexander Albon Red Bull-Honda 1.224s
10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda 1.303s
11 Esteban Ocon Renault 1.409s
12 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri-Honda 1.570s
13 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren-Renault 1.699s
14 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1.731s
15 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 1.890s
16 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 2.068s
17 George Russell Williams-Mercedes 2.118s
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 2.145s
19 Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes 2.716s

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with: