Latest news:

Firestone Indy Lights Series

By Andrew Cutler
June 27 2008

Here is an overview of the Indy Racing League Firstone Indy Lights series, the main "feeder" series by which drivers advance to the IndyCar Series. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


The Firstone Indy Lights series cars use a modified, 3.5 liter V8 from the Infiniti Q45 street production car.


Firestone is the sole tire supplier to the Indy Pro Series. The tires are "racing slicks" that are 3/32nds of an inch in thickness.

The front tires are ten inches wide and fifteen inches in diameter.

The rear tires are fourteen inches wide and fifteen inches in diameter.


The chassis is designed by Dallara

                                   Dallara Indy Lights



The Firstone Indy Lights series will run twelve events in 2011. Eleven will be in conjunction with IndyCar Series race weekends. Seven races will be on street/road courses and five will be on ovals.

3/27/11: St. Petersburg (street course)

Winner: Josef Newgarden - Sam Schmidt Motorsports

4/10/11: Barber Motorsports Park (road course)

Winner: Victor Garcia - Team Moore Racing

4/17/11: Long Beach (street course) 

Winner: Conor Daly - Sam Schmidt Motorsports

5/27/11: Indianapolis

6/19/11: Milwaukee

6/15/11: Iowa 

7/10/11: Toronto (street course)

7/23/10: Edmonton (airport tarmac course)

8/07/11: Trois Rivieres (street course) - not in conjuction with an IndyCar event

8/14/10: New Hampshire

9/04/11: Baltimore (street course)

10/02/11: Kentucky

10/16/11: Las Vegas

2010 Firestone Indy Lights Series Champion:

J.K. Vernay - Sam Schmidt Motorsports 



View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with: